10 tips to improve your wildlife photography

  1. Be familiar with the equipment

  2. Be ready (technically and mentally)

  3. Know the behavior of animals

  4. To be in the right place at the right time

  5. Respect for nature and animals

  6. Clear statement - play with the distance

  7. Conscious use of perspective and background

  8. Put every animal in the best light

  9. Patience is not a virtue ... it is a necessity

  10. Enjoy

1. BE FAMILIAR WITH THE EQUIPMENT

 

Sounds like the biggest cliché? ... but you know it's true for wildlife photography. In my experience, the really great actions in the animal kingdom last between 1 and a maximum of around 20 seconds. If you are unfamiliar with your camera's settings or the capabilities of the lens you have chosen, you will either miss the moment or with due sadness erased the pictures you can take later.

 

Do you know the minimum shutter speed with which you can achieve a sharp picture with your camera / lens combination?

Do you know the additional possibilities that stabilization in the camera or in the lens offers you?

Know how to quickly switch between focus points or focus modes?

Do you know how high you can go with your camera's ISO setting to still achieve acceptable results?

 

Of course, depending on your equipment, sooner or later there will be limits. But the best equipment is of little use if you don't know how to use it.

 

TIP:

Look for tutorials on the Internet in quiet times or attend a photography course to get to know the possibilities and limits of your equipment and then it is time to try it out, practice, stick with it.

2. BE READY (technically and mentally)

 

Often you take other photos between the drift observations. The equipment and settings are customized for landscapes, people or night scenes, etc. It is therefore essential to check the camera settings for animal photography at an early stage and to make sure that the necessary accessories such as memory cards etc. are included.

 

When starting animal photography (safari), the camera with the appropriate lens should always be set so that you are always ready to take a sharp picture of a moving subject.

Interesting actions and exciting situations with wild animals are often unpredictable and surprising. They are over just as quickly as the fight between two hippos in Kenya.

_DSC9811_994.jpg

One possible setting that has proven itself for me in these situations is: Manual recording mode (M) with freely selectable aperture and shutter speed and ISO automatic. For the aperture, I choose an aperture that is as open as possible (small f-number) and a fast shutter speed (at least 1/1000). The automatic ISO ensures that the image is always correctly exposed until the maximum ISO number is reached. This must be set beforehand in the camera menu under ISO sensitivity settings. Of course, it is important to know how high you can go with the ISO setting of your camera in order to still be able to achieve acceptable results.

Furthermore, the continuous autofocus (tracking autofocus) and the series image recording must be set on the camera.

 

If you come across subjects that don't move or want to take a landscape photo in between, you usually have enough time to adjust the settings.

 

TIP

Always expect to be able to take the picture of your life in the next moment - then you will also be mentally ready.

3. KNOW ANIMAL BEHAVIOR

 

It goes without saying, doesn't it? Since a large part of animal photography is based on capturing fleeting moments, i.e. capturing interesting actions, it pays to anticipate the behavior of your subject as precisely as possible. This cannot work well for every species, but there are behavioral patterns that are deeply anchored and known. Knowing your subject can make the difference between being prepared to capture that "golden moment" or watching it fly by in agony. There is only one way to get to know wildlife ... studying their behavior in books / the internet and spending time with them. For example, many waterfowl later throw the caught fish into the air to get it between their beak, like this marabou stork. If you know this behavior and are ready as described under point 2, such recordings will succeed. But don't just stay a few minutes looking for the next subject if what you are observing or photographing does not produce the desired result. Watch you. Are you waiting. This is also related to patience, which I will go into in more detail later.

DSC_0738.jpg

TIP

For wildlife recordings, always set the exposure mode to series image recording and shoot corresponding series. You can later select the best pictures on the computer.

4. IN THE RIGHT PLACE AT THE RIGHT TIME

 

Of course, it takes luck to be in the right place at the right time. But if I am generally out and about at the wrong time of day and in the wrong place, it is very likely that I will hardly be lucky.

Take advantage of the hours of golden light! Especially in hot regions such as southern Africa, most animals show up either in the morning hours or in the late afternoon. When the temperatures are bearable, the animal activities increase and the lighting conditions are best for great pictures at this time.

 

Photography is all about painting with light. Accordingly, you need to know how to get the most out of light in animal photography. Often times we find ourselves in a position where the light is not ideal or the mood is beautiful and the light is perfect but is coming from the wrong direction ... and we are not always able to move ourselves to a better place move. The good news is that light coming in the wrong direction can add a lot of mood to an image. It is difficult to shoot into the light, but if you stick to tip 1 (Know your gear) you can get interesting pictures even from a less than ideal light position, as shown in the examples below of oryx and giraffe in backlight.

MMA_1220.jpg
DSC_2115.jpg

TIP

For tracking down and photographing birds and wild animals, it is advantageous to have a local guide lead you, ideally in a special, possibly individual photo tour. Local guides know their areas, their inhabitants and their behavior very well and know who can be found where and when.

5. RESPECT FOR NATURE AND ANIMALS

 

Ethics is a sub-area of ​​philosophy that deals with the prerequisites for human action and its evaluation - practical philosophy. Ethical considerations and norms shape (at least they should) our dealings with one another, but also our dealings with the nature around us. Thus, of course, nature photography is not an “ethics-free area” either.

 

Animal welfare comes first

Apart from legal regulations, the following applies when photographing animals: “The animal determines what works.” The interpretation of the behavior of the photographed animals requires a sound knowledge of species and behavior (e.g. knowledge of jumping behavior, stress phenomena, escape distances).

 

A guest in nature

Nature photographers see themselves as guests in nature - the entry into the habitat of the animal should be done with consideration and distance and if possible, leave no traces.

6. CLEAR STATEMENT - PLAY WITH THE DISTANCE

 

I love to take detail shots .. and I mean those in which the detail is really visible. Get up close to the face (by shifting your position or changing the effective focal length by using a longer lens with an optional teleconverter) for various and interesting studies of the animals / birds you are photographing. This will also help you think in more abstract composition arrangements. The most important thing is: focus on the eye . In the case of two animals, the eye of the animal in the foreground. Take a look at the following two photos as an example.

DSC_1971_915.JPG
_DSC0524.jpg

But also challenge yourself to shoot at a wider angle to give the viewer a better idea of where you took the picture and how your subject lives in the wild. This applies to all the species you photograph - from squirrels to deer to elephants.

The migrating wildebeest in the Masai Mara and the herd of zebras in Botswana were photographed with a 24-70mm lens to give the viewer a sense of the surroundings.

_DSC1033.jpg
_DSC7715_01.jpg

tip

Vary - there is no right or wrong. Try to express what you want to show with the picture!

7. THE PERSPECTIVE / THE BACKGROUND

 

For the expressiveness of an animal photo, perspective is almost everything. How you portray your subject can make a huge difference. In short - try to be on par with your subject, or even lower if you can. This brings the viewer of your picture directly into the scene and confronts him very directly with the depicted animal. Of course, “eye level” is relative (you are almost always in a lower perspective than, for example, a giraffe), but in principle it is better to go too deep than from above. Always think about the limitations of your surroundings. For example, you are not allowed to leave your vehicle in most animal reserves in South Africa. This limits you to a certain perspective.

 

Check out these pictures for an illustration. The first African wild dog was photographed from a slightly elevated vehicle position. The result is a somewhat boring shot - nothing special in my eyes. The second shot was taken from a lower vehicle position, through which the animals were at eye level - the image immediately appears much more vivid.

_DSC0671.jpg
_DSC8457.jpg

In wild animal photography, the animal only comes into its own with the right background. This should complement the animal and not have a disruptive or distracting effect in terms of color and shape. A wild animal photo loses its effect incredibly if power lines, cars, a fence or the like can be seen in the background.

So take a little time and pay attention not only to the animal, but also to the background. If necessary, change the recording location.

With the two recordings (red cap and robin chat) it is easy to show which points are important.

MMA_2793.jpg
MMA_2795.jpg

Left: The bird is far too central, the foreground and background distract strongly from the object.

Right: Here the bird is in the golden section with space in the direction of vision and nicely set free from the background.

 

TIP

- Always try to find an optimal or even extreme perspective for your picture.

- Depending on the photo, it is worth kneeling or even lying on the floor when taking photos. Try to shoot from the lowest point.

- If you are traveling with the safari vehicle, this is of course not easy to implement. Depressions or depressions in the ground can be used here in order to come at eye level with the animal.

8. PUT EVERY ANIMAL IN THE BEST LIGHT

 

Better a great picture with a chameleon than one with a boring lion, better a colorful flying bird than a group of sleeping monkeys.

 

Every tourist wants to see the "Big 5" or at least a lion. But great sightings - of lions, for example - do not always provide fantastic images. If you've ever spent daytime with wild lions, you know that they are actually mostly boring photo models. You sleep up to 20 hours a day. On the other hand, I had great photo opportunities of impalas, the most common ungulates you can find in the bush of southern Africa. My advice to the discerning photographer is to look for great opportunities in good lighting, regardless of the species!

 

Learn to recognize the potential of the everyday to create amazing photographic moments. Get out there and take good pictures. The obvious motivation is to take a picture with great content in great light with just the right settings - the Utopia shot.

DSC_9223.jpg
DSC_3822.jpg

tip

Practice at home with pets, birds, insects etc. in different lighting situations and with different camera settings. Try to put the object in the best possible light.

9. Patience is not a virtue ... it is a necessity

 

As a wildlife photographer, your images are based on the fact that things in nature are unpredictable. Anything can happen at any time ... but most things rarely happen, or at least rarely around the time that you are in that particular place. So it is imperative that you become patient ... very patient. It's something you have to practice all the time. In essence, it's almost a culmination of many of the things we've discussed so far. Observing your motives and getting to know their behavior patterns requires a lot of patience. Often times, this means going back to the same place for days before something happens ... and even then you run the risk of nothing and wasting your time. The picture below was taken from a hideout. It wasn't until the fourth day that I was successful, after having spent hours in which there was nothing to watch or photograph.

DSC_9945web.jpg

10. ENJOY IT

 

The last of my pieces of advice is: "Be there" and enjoy it !!

 

By that I don't just mean that you have to be physically in the right place at the right time - and of course that also applies - but I actually mean that you don't forget to enjoy the moment despite the camera and taking photos. We need to be aware of the privilege of spending time in nature and being in places where the human hand has not yet developed its full power. It doesn't matter if it's just the most secluded place in your local park to sit and watch and photograph squirrels and birds, or some other wonderful place in the world. How does it help us to spend so much time with this wonderful hobby if we don't enjoy the time we spend ?

 

 

I hope these tips will find you useful in the field. They help me. Good light and good sightings everyone.

 

Bonus tip

 

Wildlife photography is always associated with great adventure and special emotions. Don't forget to take “backstage photos” of your adventure too. Such photos complement your animal pictures and make you have wonderful memories.

DSC_8312.jpg

10 Tipps zur Verbesserung Ihrer Wildtier-Fotografie

  1. Mit der Ausrüstung vertraut sein

  2. Bereit sein (technisch und mental)

  3. Verhalten der Tiere kennen

  4. Zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort sein

  5. Respekt gegenüber der Natur und den Tieren

  6. Klare Aussage - Mit der Distanz spielen

  7. Bewusster Einsatz von Perspektive und Hintergrund

  8. Jedes Tier ins Beste Licht setzen

  9. Geduld ist keine Tugend ... es ist eine Notwendigkeit

  10. Geniessen

1. MIT DER AUSRÜSTUNG VERTRAUT SEIN

Das klingt nach dem größten Klischee? ... Aber Sie wissen, dass es für die Tierfotografie wahr ist. Die wirklich großartigen Aktionen im Tierreich dauern meiner Erfahrung nach zwischen 1 bis höchstens rund 20 Sekunden. Wenn Sie mit den Einstellungen Ihrer Kamera oder den Fähigkeiten des von Ihnen gewählten Objektivs nicht vertraut sind, werden Sie entweder den Moment verpassen oder die Bilder, die Sie aufnehmen können später mit entsprechender Wehmut löschen. 

 

Wissen Sie, mit welcher minimalen Verschlusszeit Sie mit Ihrer Kamera / Objektiv-Kombination ein scharfes Bild erzielen können?

Kennen Sie die zusätzlichen Möglichkeiten, die Ihnen die Stabilisierung in der Kamera oder im Objektiv bietet?

Wissen, wie man schnell zwischen Fokuspunkten oder Fokusmodi wechselt?

Wissen Sie, wie hoch Sie mit den ISO-Einstellung Ihrer Kamera gehen können um dennoch akzeptable Ergebnisse erzielen zu können?

 

Natürlich sind Ihnen je nach Ausrüstung früher oder später Grenzen gesetzt. Aber die beste Ausrüstung bringt Ihnen wenig, wenn Sie damit nicht umzugehen wissen.

TIPP:

Suchen Sie in ruhigen Zeiten im Internet nach Tutorials oder besuchen Sie einen Fotokurs um die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen Ihrer Ausrüstung kennen zu lernen und dann heisst es Ausprobieren, Üben, Dranbleiben. 

2. BEREIT SEIN ( technisch und mental)

Oft fotografiert man zwischen den Tiebeobachtungen noch anderes. Die Ausrüstung und die Einstellungen werden für Landschaften, Personen- oder Nachtaufnahmen usw. angepasst. Deshalb ist es unabdingbar die Einstellungen der Kamera für die Tierfotografie frühzeitig zu überprüfen und sich zu vergewissern, ob das nötige Zubehör wie Speicherkarte usw. dabei ist.

 

Beim Start zur Tierfotografie (Safari) sollte die Kamera mit entsprechendem Objektiv immer so eingestellt sein, dass man jederzeit bereit ist, ein bewegliches Motiv scharf fotografieren zu können. 

Oft sind interessante Aktionen und spannende Situationen mit Wildtieren unvorhersehbar und überraschend. Genauso schnell sind sie wieder vorbei, wie hier der Kampf zwischen zwei Nilpferden in Kenia.

Eine mögliche Einstellung, welche sich für mich in diesen Situationen bewährt hat, ist:  Manueller Aufnahmemodus (M) mit frei wählbarer Blende und Verschlusszeit und ISO-Automatik. Bei der Blende wähle ich eine möglichst offene Blende (kleine Blendenzahl) und dazu eine schnelle Verschlusszeit (mindestens 1/1000). Die ISO-Automatik sorgt nun dafür, dass das Bild jederzeit richtig belichtet ist, bis die maximale ISO Zahl erreicht ist. Diese muss vorgängig im Kameramenü unter ISO-Empfindlichkeits-Einstellungen eingestellt werden. Wichtig zu wissen ist natürlich, wie hoch Sie mit den ISO-Einstellung Ihrer Kamera gehen können um dennoch akzeptable Ergebnisse erzielen zu können.

Weiter ist bei der Kamera der kontinuierliche Autofokus ( Nachführ-Autofokus) und die Serie - Bildaufnahme einzustellen.  

Wenn Sie auf Motive treffen die sich nicht bewegen oder zwischendurch ein Landschaftsfoto machen wollen haben Sie in der Regel genügend Zeit, die Einstellungen anzupassen.

 

TIPP

Rechne immer damit im nächsten Moment das Bild Deines Leben schiessen zu können - dann bist Du auch mental bereit. 

3. VERHALTEN DER TIERE KENNEN

Es versteht sich von selbst, oder? Da ein Großteil der Tierfotografie auf der Erfassung flüchtiger Momente basiert sprich: festhalten interessanter Aktionen, lohnt es sich, das Verhalten Ihres Motivs möglichst präzise vorauszusehen. Dies  kann nicht bei jeder Tierart gut gelingen, aber es gibt Verhaltensmuster, die tief verankert und bekannt sind. Wenn Sie Ihr Motiv kennen, kann dies den Unterschied ausmachen, ob Sie darauf vorbereitet sind, diesen „goldenen Moment“ festzuhalten, oder ob Sie ihn qualvoll an Ihnen vorbeifliegen sehen. Es gibt nur einen Weg, Wildtiere kennenzulernen… ihr verhalten aus Büchern/dem Internet zu studieren sowie Zeit mit ihnen zu verbringen. Viele Wasservögel werfen zum Beispiel den gefangenen Fisch später in die Luft um ihn zwischen den Schnabel zu bekommen, so wie dieser Marabu-Storch. Wenn man dieses Verhalten kennt und wie unter Punkt 2 beschrieben bereit ist, gelingen solche Aufnahmen. Doch bleiben Sie nicht nur ein paar Minuten und suchen Sie das nächste Motiv, wenn das, was Sie beobachten oder fotografieren, das gewünschte Ergebnis nicht zeigt. Beobachten Sie. Warten Sie. Dies hängt auch mit der Geduld zusammen, auf die ich später noch näher eingehen werde.

TIPP

Bei Wildlife Aufnahmen die Aufnahmebetriebsart immer auf Serie-Bildaufnahme stellen und entsprechende Serien schiessen. Die besten Aufnahmen können sie später am Computer auswählen. 

4. ZUR RICHTIGEN ZEIT AM RICHTIGEN ORT

Natürlich braucht es Glück, um zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort zu sein. Aber wenn ich grundsätzlich zur falschen Tageszeit und am falschen Ort unterwegs bin, wird mir das Glück mit grösster Wahrscheinlichkeit kaum zuteil. 

Nutzen Sie die Stunden des goldenen Lichts! Gerade in heißen Regionen wie beispielsweise im südlichen Afrika zeigen sich die meisten Tiere entweder in den Morgenstunden oder am späteren Nachmittag. Wenn die Temperaturen erträglich sind steigen die Tiereaktivitäten und die Lichtverhältnisse sind für tolle Bilder zu dieser Zeit am besten.

 

Beim Fotografieren geht es nur um das Malen mit Licht. Entsprechend müssen Sie wissen, wie Sie das Licht in der Tierfotografie optimal nutzen können. Oft befinden wir uns in einer Position, in der das Licht nicht ideal ist oder die Stimmung wunderschön und das Licht perfekt ist, aber aus der falschen Richtung kommt... und wir sind auch nicht immer in der Lage, uns an einen besseren Ort zu bewegen. Die gute Nachricht ist, dass Licht aus der falschen Richtung einem Bild viel Stimmung verleihen kann. Es ist schwierig, ins Licht zu schießen, aber wenn Sie sich an Tipp 1 (Kennen Sie Ihre Ausrüstung) halten, können Sie  auch aus einer nicht idealen Lichtposition interessante Bilder erhalten, wie untenstehende Beispiele von Oryxantilopen und Giraffe im Gegenlicht zeigen.

TIPP

Für das Aufspüren und Fotografieren von Vögeln und Wildtieren lässt man sich mit Vorteil von einem lokalen  Guide führen, bestenfalls in einer speziellen, eventuell individuellen Fototour.  Lokale Führer kennen ihre Gebiete,  deren Bewohner und ihr Verhalten sehr genau und wissen, wer wann wo zu finden ist. 

5. RESPEKT GEGENÜBER DER NATUR UND DEN TIEREN

 

Ethik ist ein Teilbereich der Philosophie, der sich mit den Voraussetzungen menschlichen Handelns und seiner Bewertung befasst – praktische Philosophie also. Ethische Überlegungen und Normen prägen (sollten sie zumindest) unseren Umgang miteinander, aber auch unseren Umgang mit der uns umgebenden Natur. Somit ist selbstverständlich auch die Naturfotografie kein „ethikfreier Raum“.

Tierwohl geht vor 

Abgesehen von gesetzlichen Bestimmungen gilt beim Fotografieren von Tieren: „Das Tier bestimmt, was geht.“ Die Interpretation des Verhaltens der fotografierten Tiere setzt fundierte Arten- und Verhaltenskenntnis voraus (z. B. Kenntnis von Übersprungverhalten, Stresserscheinungen, Fluchtdistanzen).

In der Natur zu Gast

Naturfotografen verstehen sich als Gast in der Natur – das Eindringen in den Lebensraum des Tieres soll mit Rücksicht und Abstand geschehen und  möglichst keine Spuren hinterlassen werden.

6. KLARE AUSSAGE - MIT DER DISTANZ SPIELEN

 

Ich liebe es Detailaufnahmen zu machen.. und ich meine solche, in denen wirklich das Detail sichtbar wird. Gehen Sie in die Nähe des Gesichts (indem Sie Ihre Position verschieben oder die effektive Brennweite ändern, indem Sie ein längeres Objektiv mit optionalem Telekonverter verwenden), um verschiedene und interessante Studien der Tiere / Vögel zu erstellen, die Sie fotografieren. Dies wird Ihnen auch helfen, in abstrakteren Kompositionsarrangements zu denken. Das wichtigste dabei ist: Scharf stellen auf das Auge. Bei zwei Tieren auf das Auge des Tieres im Vordergrund. Schauen Sie sich als Beispiel die nachfolgenden  beiden Fotos  an. 

Fordern Sie sich aber auch heraus, in einem größeren Winkel zu fotografieren, um dem Betrachter eine bessere Vorstellung davon zu geben, wo Sie das Bild aufgenommen haben und wie Ihr Motiv in freier Wildbahn lebt. Dies gilt für alle Arten, die Sie fotografieren - vom Eichhörnchen über das Reh bis zum Elefanten.

Die migrierenden Gnus in der Masai Mara und die Zebraherde in Botswana wurden mit einem 24-70mm Objektiv fotografiert, um den Betrachtern ein Gefühl für die Umgebung zu vermitteln. 

Tipp

Variieren Sie - es gibt kein richtig oder falsch. Versuchen Sie mit dem Bild das auszudrücken, was sie zeigen wollen!

7. DIE PERSPEKTIVE / DER HINTERGRUND

 

Die Perspektive ist für die Aussagekraft eines Tierfotos fast alles. Wie Sie Ihr Motiv darstellen, kann einen riesigen Unterschied machen. Kurz gesagt - versuchen Sie, auf Augenhöhe mit ihrem Fotoobjekt zu kommen oder gar noch niedriger, wenn Sie können. Dies bringt den Betrachter Ihres Bildes direkt in die Szene und konfrontiert ihn sehr direkt mit dem abgebildeten Tier. Natürlich ist „Augenhöhe“ relativ (Sie befinden sich so gut wie immer in einer niedrigeren Perspektive als beispielsweise eine Giraffe), aber grundsätzlich lieber zu tief als von oben herab. Denken Sie immer an die Einschränkungen Ihrer Umgebung. In den meisten Tierreservaten in Südafrika dürfen Sie beispielsweise Ihr Fahrzeug nicht verlassen. Dies beschränkt Sie auf eine bestimmte Perspektive. 

 

Schauen Sie sich diese Bilder zur Veranschaulichung an. Der erste afrikanische Wildhund wurde aus einer etwas erhöhten Fahrzeugposition fotografiert. Das Ergebnis ist eine etwas langweilige Aufnahme - in meinen Augen nichts Besonderes. In der zweiten Aufnahme wurde aus einer tieferen Fahrzeugposition aufgenommen, durch welche sich die Tiere  auf Augenhöhe befanden - sofort wirkt das Bild deutlich lebendiger.  

Bei der Wildtier-Fotografie kommt das Tier nur bei richtigem Hintergrund voll zur Geltung. Dieser sollte ergänzend zum Tier sein und farblich und von der Form nicht störend oder ablenkend wirken. Ein Wildtierfoto verliert unglaublich an Wirkung, wenn im Hintergrund Stromleitungen, Autos, ein Zaun oder Ähnliches zu sehen sind.

Nehmen Sie sich also ein bisschen Zeit und achten Sie nicht nur auf das Tier, sondern auch auf den Hintergrund. Ändern Sie gegebenenfalls den Aufnahmestandort.

Mit den beiden Aufnahmen (Rotkappen-Rotkehlchen-Chat)  lässt sich gut zeigen, auf welche Punkte es an kommt.

Links: Der Vogel ist viel zu zentral, der Vorder- und Hintergrund lenkt stark vom Objekt ab.

Rechts: Hier befindet sich der Vogel im goldenen Schnitt mit Raum in Blickrichtung und schön vom Hintergrund frei gestellt.

 

TIPP

Versuchen Sie immer eine optimale oder sogar extreme Perspektive für Ihr Bild zu finden.

- Je nach Fotomotiv, lohnt es sich beim Fotografieren auf dem Boden zu knien oder gar zu liegen. Probieren Sie, vom tiefsten Punkt zu fotografieren.

- Wenn man mit dem Safari-Fahrzeug unterwegs ist, ist dies natürlich nicht gut umsetzbar. Hier können Bodensenken oder Vertiefungen genutzt werden um auf Augenhöhe mit dem Tier zu kommen.

8. JEDES TIER INS BESTE LICHT SETZEN

Lieber ein tolles Bild mit einem Chamäleon als eines mit einem langweiligen Löwen,  lieber einen farbenprächtigen fliegenden Vogel als eine Gruppe schlafender Affen.

 

Jeder Tourist möchte die „Big 5“ oder zumindest einen Löwen sehen. Doch grossartige Sichtungen - beispielsweise von  Löwen - liefern nicht immer fantastische Bilder. Wenn Sie jemals tagsüber Zeit mit wilden Löwen verbracht haben, wissen Sie, dass es sich tatsächlich um meist langweilige Fotomodelle handelt. Sie schlafen bis zu 20 Stunden pro Tag. Andererseits erlebte ich großartige Fotomöglichkeiten von Impalas, den häufigsten Huftieren die man im Busch des südlichen Afrikas antrifft. Mein Rat an  anspruchsvolle Fotografen ist, bei guten Lichtverhältnissen nach großartigen Möglichkeiten zu suchen, unabhängig von der Tierart!

 

Lernen Sie, das Potenzial des Alltäglichen zu erkennen, um erstaunliche fotografische Momente zu schaffen. Gehen Sie raus und machen Sie gute Bilder. Die offensichtliche Motivation ist ein Bild mit großartigem Inhalt bei großartiger Lichtaufnahme mit genau den richtigen Einstellungen - die Utopia-Aufnahme - zu machen. 

Tipp

Üben Sie zu Hause mit Haustieren, Vögeln, Insekten usw. bei verschiedenen Lichtsituationen und mit unterschiedlichen Kamera-Einstellungen. Versuchen Sie das Objekt ins Beste Licht zu setzen.

9. Geduld ist keine Tugend ... sie ist eine Notwendigkeit

Als Naturfotograf basieren Ihre Bilder auf der Tatsache, dass die Dinge in der Natur unvorhersehbar sind. Alles kann jederzeit passieren… aber die meisten Dinge passieren nur selten oder zumindest kaum zu der Zeit, zu der Sie sich an diesem bestimmten Ort befinden. Es ist daher unerlässlich, dass Sie geduldig werden ... sehr geduldig.  Es ist etwas, das man ständig üben muss. Im Wesentlichen ist es fast ein Höhepunkt vieler der Dinge, die wir bisher besprochen haben. Das Beobachten Ihrer Motive und das Kennenlernen ihrer Verhaltensmuster erfordert viel Geduld. Oft bedeutet dies, dass Sie tagelang an denselben Ort zurückkehren müssen, bevor etwas passiert… und selbst dann laufen Sie Gefahr, dass nichts passiert und Sie Ihre Zeit verschwendet haben. Das Bild unten wurde aus einem Tarnversteck aufgenommen. Erst am vierten Tag war ich erfolgreich, nachdem ich zuvor Stunden verbracht habe, in denen es weder etwas zu beobachten noch zu fotografieren gab. 

10. GENIESSEN SIE ES

 

Der letzte meiner Ratschläge ist: "Seien Sie  dabei" und geniessen Sie es !!

 

Damit meine ich nicht nur, dass Sie physisch zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort sein müssen - das gilt natürlich auch -, aber ich meine tatsächlich, dass Sie trotz Kamera und Fotografieren nicht vergessen, den Moment zu geniessen. Wir müssen uns des Privilegs bewusst sein, Zeit in der Natur zu verbringen und an Orten zu sein, an denen die Hand des Menschen noch nicht ihre volle Kraft entfaltet hat. Egal ob das für Sie nur der abgelegenste Ort in Ihrem örtlichen Park ist, an dem Sie sitzen und Eichhörnchen und Vögel beobachten und fotografieren können, oder sonst an einem wunderbaren Platz auf der Welt ist. Was hilft es uns, so viel Zeit mit diesem wunderbaren Hobby zu verbringen, wenn wir die verbrachte Zeit nicht geniessen?

 

Ich hoffe, diese Tipps werden Ihnen auf dem Feld zugute kommen. Mir helfen sie. Gutes Licht und gute Sichtungen euch allen.

Bonus Tipp

 

Wildtier-Fotografie ist immer mit großem Abenteuer und besonderen Emotionen verbunden. Vergessen Sie nicht, auch „Backstage Fotos“ Ihres Abenteuers zu machen. Solche Fotos ergänzen Ihre Tierbilder und lassen schöne Erinnerungen in Ihnen aufkommen.

© 2020 by Manfred Suter Photography

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White YouTube Icon